Soup and Ice Cream…what a combination

The other night my mom had a large group gather at her house for a soup, bread and salad night. The soups were amazing! I love soup when the fall season rolls around. This was my favorite soup of the night. I wish I would have snapped a quick picture of it, but alas I did not think about it at the time. Hopefully you will trust me when I say, “This soup was 100% delicious!”

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

6 C Chicken Broth
2 Cooked Chicken Breasts, shredded (Gently boil with a little season salt)
1 pkg rice and wild rice with seasoning.
1/2 C minced onion
1/2 C minced celery
1/2 carrots, chopped
8 oz. mushrooms, chopped
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 tsp pepper
3/4 C flour
1/2 C butter (or olive oil)
3 C half and half

Combine broth, rice, onions, celery and carrots and cook for however long package suggests. Mix salt and pepper with flour. In saucepan melt butter (or add olive oil) and mix in seasoning packet from rice. Slowly add flour mixture to make a roux (a very thick roux) slowly add half and half until all combined. When rice is finished add cream mixture, chicken and mushrooms. Heat through for about 15 minutes.

After a wonderful evening of soups shred with many family members, we were able to enjoy some fabulous ice cream at the grand opening of Ike’s. Ike’s Ice Cream Parlor is our newest neighbor located across the walkway from Zion’s Mercantile. They serve Blue Bell ice cream and if you have never tried Blue Bell you are missing out. This is the best, creamiest ice cream you will ever have. Now for those of you who don’t have the luxury of purchasing Blue Bell when the ice cream craving hits, I thought I would share my Homemade Vanilla Ice Cream recipe with you. It is not Blue Bell, but I think it is pretty darn good!

Vanilla Ice Cream

4 eggs
3 cups sugar
4 1/2 cups whipping cream
8 cups 1/2 &1/2
1/2 tsp. salt

3 T. Vanilla

Beat the eggs till light and fluffy.
Add sugar gradually, beating the mixture till it thickens.
Add remaining ingredients and mix by hand thoroughly.
Freeze in ice cream freezer 30 minutes or until freezer stops.
Make sure to layer your rock salt and ice in the ice cream mixer. I freeze the container that I will be storing the ice cream in so it is nice and cold when I transfer the ice cream from the mixer to the storage container. Enjoy!

This entry was posted in Pioneer Recipes and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

